I like anime. That's about the only reason I'm doing this.
I watched the first episode of Kurokami at least three times through--once from the pre-air stream sub, once from cornbreadman's rip of the English dub from iaTV, and once again after hearing how much better the fight scenes looked in HD.
Personally, I liked the dub. I think Bandai did a spectacular job choosing actors, translating, and directing the English version, and I think it's even cooler that we're getting it in English at the same time as Japan.
Since the dub was so well done, iaTV didn't air Kurokami in HD, and I was extremely bored, I decided to take on synchronizing the audio from cornbreadman's English rip to Nuke's HD fansub of the first episode. My first try was a little chaotic, taking a couple more hours than it should have, but I pulled it off, and was happy with the results, even if there were a few problems. Of course, about an hour after that, Theft! released the exact same thing.
For the next episode, I synced cornbreadman's audio with the raw, foregoing the subtitles, because I didn't even plan to watch the Japanese version. There were still a few problems, but I eventually got into a rhythm, saving me lots and lots of time.
Somehow, while working on the third episode, I got the bright idea to try my hand at transcribing the dub's script and timing it to the Japanese audio and actually releasing a dub/sub dual-audio combo. After several long, painful hours, I got the dub synced to the raw, the script transcribed, a simple style picked out, and six and a half minutes of dialogue timed. While I gained a great respect for all the work fansubbers do (especially since I got to forego the translation part altogether), I gave up on that endeavor and just kept the HD dub to myself.
When I got ahold of cornbreadman's rip of episode four, I was bothered by the video. Maybe it was just me, but aside from the OP and ED, the entire episode was tinted green. Not slightly, either... the episode was mostly green, and also unwatchable. Since I figured perhaps others might have the same problem, I decided to go ahead and polish up my work on the dub-sync and release it to the public.
tl;dr: I'm now releasing Kurokami HD dubs under the mantle of Kowai Yume.
If anyone ever needs to get ahold of me (and, yes, there's only one of me), just drop a message by:
kowai [DOT] nightmare [AT] gmail [DOT] com
Much obliged, and enjoy the anime. :)
Friday, January 30, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment